Is your Bathroom somewhere you like to be? No? Make it Gorgeous! Part 1 of 3 – Counters & Under the Sink

Is your Bathroom somewhere you like to be? No? Make it Gorgeous!

Part 1 – Counters & Under the Sink

 

The master bathroom in my new house left much to be desired…

It’s small and offers nothing in the way of organization or storage.

IMG_6798  IMG_6799

Does yours look anything like this?

Stuff all over your counters? (Necessary) clutter under your sink?

I hope not, but if it does, here are a few things you can do to beautify your bathroom.

 

Let’s start with storage.

Even if you are a low maintenance kind of person, you still have a toothbrush, hair brush, whatever. So, YES you still need storage.

We all got stuff. 

 

My sister in law was throwing out this organizer cube thingy and ask if I wanted it… I didn’t know at the time what I would use it for, but (much to my minimalist husband’s dismay) I took it anyway.

IMG_8840

I separated the top and the bottom shelves and after some finagling, it fit perfectly under my sink.

I added the Tupperware drawers from my counter under there as well, it fit just too perfectly under the p-trap not to reuse. I use it for things I don’t use very often, like different colors palettes of makeup, false lashes, extra flossers, Orajel, etc.

The drawer in the organizer I used for stuff I really don’t use very often, such as my ring cleaner, tooth brush charger, etc.

Then, inside the door of the organizer cube, I put a little basket to hold all of my hair stuff. Hair dryer, straightening serums, dry shampoo, special brushes, etc.

And on top of the organizer I have hair clippers, trash bags and Cottonelle wipes refills.

IMG_6782  IMG_6801

Oh, and I found a toilet paper holder at Bed, Bath & Beyond, that made the finishing touch under the sink.

IMG_6802

 

Now… what to do about stuff I use everyday… like my tooth brush, contacts, glasses, makeup, deodorant, hair brush…

I created a “Getting Ready Box” for my husband and me.

These super cute Rubbermaid Storage Boxes from Target were the perfect size!

FullSizeRender 4  FullSizeRender 5

So, my idea behind the “Getting Ready Box” was that we could have everything we needed at our fingertips, but not on the counter when it wasn’t being used.

In others words, I wake and up my box is already on the counter, I used everything in the box to get ready, then I put the box under the sink… Evening comes and I pull out my box and put it on the counter, brush my teeth, take out my contacts, and leave the box on the counter, ready for me the next morning.

But for the entire day, my counter is clean and minimal.

Perfect. 

IMG_6848  

Finally, I found this lantern, little bird and picture at T.J. Maxx and this succulent at Lowe’s.IMG_6846

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LOVE.

IMG_6805

Get ready for PART 2!!

 

 

One thought on “Is your Bathroom somewhere you like to be? No? Make it Gorgeous! Part 1 of 3 – Counters & Under the Sink

Leave a Reply

